“as (long as) you will have me” my personal adaptation

When I was around 16 years old, I was asked to transform my most treasured poem and fashion it into our my words and meaning. I took on “i carry your heart…” by ee. cummings and below is my adaptation, written 5 years ago:

my love is yours (as long as you will have me)forever is never long enough (to have my heart with

you always)for whatever distance away from my heart you travel,

my love, my love will carry along side you

no hesitance(for my love, my true, you are my heartbeat)

no despair(for love, your heart knows only bliss) for everything I ever was and everything

i ever will be(for never ceasing to keep constantly) surrounded by your embrace and my heart

knows no greater happiness and roses bloom with bold persistance even in winter) and i revel in the notion that your love is mine(’till stars cast shadows on my forever resting face)

my love is forever yours(as long as you will have me)

Leave a comment